That First 5K

runBeing the active person that I am, one might assume I was prepared for my first 5K. That person would be wrong. In fact, from the moment I signed up for my first race, my workout routine seemed to have gotten less and less regular. Of course, life happens and I had friends and family to tend to in recent months but I really wish I had not neglected my routine. Did I make it to the finish line? Yes. Was I the weakest link on my team of four? Sadly, yes. If this was an all-running 5K, I wouldn’t have signed up since running is not my thing. But this was a mud run and included many obstacles such as climbing hay bales, ropes, hurdles, etc. Since all of my workouts are done in the comfort of an air-conditioned room, my advice to my future self would be to practice running outside…in the woods…in the sun…and maybe with shorts full of mud. Heat is not my friend. Everyone I know is signing up for races from Mud Run to Color Run to Glow in the Dark runs. Find one near you and challenge yourself! Although I apparently wasn’t motivated to get in perfect shape for this race, my performance definitely shamed me into getting in better shape now. Mud Runners for 2014: watch out!   ~Dutch

2 thoughts on “That First 5K

  1. None of us are perfect and we all fall short of our initial goals. Congrats on still showing up and pushing yourself through the course. That is definitely something to be proud of. Keep up the great work 🙂

Leave a Reply

