Morrissey: Shut Up and Sing

mI was 16 when I was introduced to the Smiths. My sister would play their albums over and over and talk about how she would like to go out but didn’t have a stitch to wear. I guess she couldn’t wear a “Meat is Murder” t-shirt every single day. And of course, she became vegan. I just couldn’t get into the band. The lyrics didn’t make sense and the voice was just too much for me. Then after about a year of listening against my will, something clicked. I became a huge Morrissey/Smiths fan. That being said, he needs to just sing. The guy is incredible. He’s 53 and still extremely attractive with an amazing voice. The word is the places he performs have to go vegetarian when he plays…kinda rude. He’s caught some flack for always bashing the British government.  Then this week, he cancelled his Jimmy Kimmel appearance because he found out the guys from Duck Dynasty would be there and said they were animal serial killers. Morrissey, no one is going to make you eat or kill an animal! He needs to relax. I love how Jimmy responded to this. He said the reason he didn’t dump Duck Dynasty is because they have guns and Morrissey doesn’t. And that he just keeps finding ways to depress us. I love Jimmy! Well when Morrissey isn’t cancelling tour dates, he’s starting up controversy. I wish he’d just get back to what he does best: bringing us up by bringing us down.    ~Dutch

Leave a Reply

