Neutral Milk Hotel

Whplaneen I first heard Neutral Milk Hotel about 10 years ago, I wasn’t sure if I was going to love the band or hate it. Jeff Mangum’s voice is very unique and his lyrics are straight up weird. But their album In the Aeroplane Over the Sea ended up being one of my favorite albums to this day. I’m not the only one who remembers them either. In January of last year, Q Magazine included this album in the top 250 of the past 25 years. Though they started gaining popularity after this release, the band abruptly broke up with Mangum having some personal issues and becoming “disenchanted with touring and the music press”. A sad, sad day for NMH lovers. But I have good news! Jeff is heading out for one last U.S. acoustic tour. Music to my earholes! You can see him in January or February in select cities. Check him out in Cwall’s area at the classy Bijou Theatre or hang with me at the Tallahassee show. I’ll be the one in the corner crying my eyes out. If you’ve never heard of NMH, listen to some of their best songs here.    ~Dutch

One thought on “Neutral Milk Hotel

  1. Pingback: Jeff Mangum + Tallahassee Review | DisasterJuice

Leave a Reply

