“Recording” – QOTSA

“Recording”

That’s what a recent post on Queens of the Stone Age’s Facebook wall stated. The picture to the left was also on their twitter feed. I can only hope that one of my favorite bands is back in the studio recording. Their first self titled full length album came out in 1998 and I was 16, so needless to say their grunge metal hit home with me during my high school years and I have been a fan ever since.

Last year I finally got to knock them off my bucket list when I saw them in Asheville, NC at The Orange Peel. The billing for the show was that they would only play that first album (recently remastered/re-released) straight through, which they did, walked off stage and waited, the crowd wouldn’t leave and thankfully neither did they. They came back out and played for another solid hour, one of the best shows I’ve been to.

If you ask any of my friends they could all tell you that QOTSA is still one of my all time favorite bands. So hearing news that they are recording again is music to my ears. Over the years I’ve enjoyed all of Josh Homme’s side projects, and any time they are featured on Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations it’s always worth watching, but hearing a new album from QOTSA would be the icing on my cake.

Thankfully to tide me over, Homme recently recorded and released a new track titled Nobody to Love, which is featured at the end of the film End of Watch with Jake Gyllenhaal. Click play below to check it out.

 

Leave a Reply

